Daily Archives: April 14, 2009

Waiting for Laurie

It looks like what was written on the notices for the Fernside trees is not the whole story. Remember, it was curb and ponding issues that were noted as reasons for possible removal; however, in the replies that he has sent to various protest letters Matt Naclerio now mentions moving the sewer main to the middle of the street as an additional (and possibly the main) reason for most of the removals. Did somebody write the notice in a hurry? Because they also forgot to check the box for tree replacement in case a tree does get removed. Anyway, I’ve asked for the documentation relating to this project to see what exactly is being pondered here, and the ball is now in Laurie Kozisek’s court, the project manager for this project.

Meanwhile, I’m linking to Christopher Buckley’s letter, which pretty much covered all the issues. Some of these points have been raised by others too, I just think Chris left nothing out and went into more detail about possible solutions than I could think of. And I agree that all this noticing seems rather premature, with both lack of reports and lack of funding, for all I know.

***
On a similar note but on a different side of the island, two huge Monterey pines in Franklin Park look like they are on their way out. There’s yellow caution tape around them, and and notices and reports taped to the trunks. I’ll be finding out more and will post what I learn as soon as I learn it. Yesterday, there was a picnic going on right inside one of the yellow tape enclosures, and the people I chatted with seemed disturbed by the removal prospect. More to come.